Eleven Years

Eleven years ago my dad died. That’s a sentence that changed many lives. You don’t always understand the dependence you have on another person, that anchor that person provides for you, especially when that person is your parent. Parents serve so many roles, mother and father each filling their parental role as advisor, mentor, confidant, shoulder to lean on, a bank when you need one, and sometimes the only one who really understands. You share the DNA of life and of love. My sister’s and I were present when our father died — literally standing at his bedside. I cannot express the emotion, the mental anguish, the complete feeling of loneliness that we all experienced then, and now. Eleven years.

20111120-143136.jpg
Parents pass in and out of our lives in so many forms. The parent, the friend, grandparent, the older person. My dad was all of these things and more. He was the best friend I ever had – he was my fishing buddy. We were Veteran’s together each with the knowledge of unspeakable events, never shared but always understood.
Now, an older person myself, I miss him even more. I love you dad.

About bauernfeind

NYC Born 27 years USAF retired Major 21 years teaching/17 in a high school now retired
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eleven Years

  1. pat says:

    Wow that was beautiful

Leave a Reply

