Desert Trails

It seems like a million years ago, returning from my first tour in Vietnam, I was stationed here at Davis Monthan AFB, in Tucson Arizona. I worked in a squadron outfitting new classes of pilots with their gear every few months as they rotated through F-4 pilot training. IMG_0590 Our recent travels across the great desert southwest has been an interesting one.  Devoid of most all life, the solitary lone mountain ranges are followed by hundreds of miles of desert.  Beautiful in their own way.IMG_0575

In some areas the desert is in bloom.  Strange flowers sprout from the top of cactus in random order.IMG_0572

I remember when I was first assigned here, I believe I got here in late May or early June, the sun was so intense it sapped my energy so quickly even at the ripe age of 20. I was lucky to be assigned to a  job where I spent the majority of my time inside. The base here has a military “boneyard” and just off base a few miles there is a civilian boneyard.  The desert air is a perfect place to store large aircraft because the rate of deterioration is so slow in this dry air.

We are not staying on base but at a beautiful KOA just off base, with our own gas fireplace at our site.

IMG_0577

We’ve been enjoying such wonderful weather these past several weeks, we’re afraid to talk about it less we jinx ourselves😏🦂

We’re off tomorrow headed to and through Texas. 🦅  Not to bash any state because everyplace has something wonderful to offer, we’ve just never had that great a time in this state.  I’m sure much of the feeling comes from our years in San Antonio.  Bottom line is we are just not “hot places” type of people.  The beach for a little while is OK, but any long term stay we just cannot do it anymore.

About bauernfeind

NYC Born 27 years USAF retired Major 21 years teaching/17 in a high school now retired
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

